Oscar B. Hunter Career Award in Therapeutics

The Oscar B. Hunter Career Award in Therapeutics was established in 1955 to honor individual scientists for outstanding contributions to clinical pharmacology and therapeutics. This award recognizes a meritorious career in drug research, excellence or contributions in direct patient care, and a distinguished teaching career. The Oscar B. Hunter Career Award in Therapeutics is the Society's premier award. The goal of the award is to honor a scientist for outstanding contributions to clinical pharmacology and therapeutics over the individual's professional life.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI):

ASCPT is committed to recognizing and promoting excellence in research, collaborations, and efforts that highlight dimensions of diversity. Nominators should address how the candidate has fostered a diverse and inclusive environment.

Eligibility

The nominee can be an academic, industrial, or regulatory scientist who has demonstrated a sustained record of lifelong contributions to clinical pharmacology and dissemination of knowledge who will be able to give an engaging presentation about their career and the impact of their work.

Prize and Presentation

The Oscar B. Hunter Career Award in Therapeutics is presented at the ASCPT Annual Meeting. The recipient will present a lecture summarizing the works that form the basis of the award. In addition, the recipient of the award will receive a bronze medal mounted on a plaque and a \$1,500 prize. Travel expenses, hotel expenses, and meeting registration will be reimbursed by the Society.

Previous Recipients

2025 - Julie A. Johnson, PharmD 1995 - Daniel L. Azarnoff, MD 2024- Kathleen Giacomini, PhD 1994 - Kenneth L. Melmon, MD 2023- Janet Woodcock, MD 1993 - Werner Kalow, MD 2022- David J. Greenblatt, MD 1992 - Paul Calabresi, MD 2021- Richard Lalonde, PharmD 2020 - Dan Roden, MD 2019- Mary V. Relling, PharmD 2018 - William J. Jusko, PhD 2017 - N/A 2016- Brian L. Strom, MD, MPH 2015- Michel Eichelbaum, MD 2014- Edward M. Sellers, MD, PhD 2013- William E. Evans, **PharmD** 2012- D. Craig Brater, MD 2011 - Garret A. FitzGerald, MD 2010 - Leslie Z. Benet, PhD 2009 – Sir Colin Dollery, MD 2008 - Marcus M. Reidenberg, MD 2007 - Terrence F. Blaschke, MD 2006 - Neal Benowitz, MD 2005 - Arthur J. Atkinson Jr., MD 2004 - Lewis B. Sheiner, MD 2003 - Louis Lemberger, MD, PhD 2002 - Sumner J. Yaffe, MD 2001 - Alan Nies, MD 2000 - Paul S. Lietman, MD, PhD 1999 - Alvan R. Feinstein, MD 1998 - Richard M. Weinshilboum, MD 1997 - J. Richard Crout, MD, FACP 1996 - Folke Sjogvist, MD, PhD

1991 - Elliott S. Vesell, MD 1990 - Walter F. Riker, Jr., MD 1989 - John J. Burns, PhD 1988 - Leo E. Hollister, MD 1987 - Jan Koch-Weser, MD 1986 - Leon I. Goldberg, MD, PhD 1985 - Raymond W. Houde, MD 1984 - George H. Hitchings, PhD, ScD 1983 - C. Gordon Zubrod, MD 1982 - Gerhard Levy, PharmD 1981 - Albert Sjoerdsma, MD, PhD 1980 - John A. Oates, MD 1979 - Ray W. Gifford, Jr., MD 1978 - Walter Modell, MD 1977 - Harris Isbell, MD 1976 - Louis Goodman, MD, and Alfred Gilman, PhD 1975 - Louis Lasagna, MD 1974 - Raymond P. Ahlquist, PhD 1973 - George C. Cotzias, MD 1972 - Edward D. Freis, MD 1971 - Maxwell Finland, MD 1970 - Bernard B. Brodie, MD 1969 - Arthur Grollman, MD 1968 - Sidney Farber, MD 1967 - George W. Thorn, MD 1966 - Irvin H. Page, MD 1965 - William B. Castle, MD 1964 - Henry K. Beecher, MD 1963 - Albert B. Sabin, MD 1962 - Charles B. Huggins, MD 1961 - Hattie E. Alexander, MD 1960 - John H. Moyer, III, MD 1959 - Tom D. Spies, MD 1958 - C. Walton Lillehei, MD 1957 - Robert W. Wilkins, MD 1956 - E. M. K. Geiling, MD 1955 - Jonas E. Salk, MD